Experienced Assault Attorney
Representation for Those Charged with Assault in Arizona
Facing charges for assault? Assault occurs when an individual knowingly or intentionally causes physical injury to another, places another in apprehension of injury, or knowingly touches another person with the intent to injure or provoke. The Chandler assault lawyer at Villanueva Skura Attorneys at Law counsels our clients and helps them navigate the legal process.
Are you facing assault charges? Call 24/7 for immediate assistance. We offer FREE consultations.
Assault Charges in Arizona
In Arizona, it is possible to be convicted of assault, even if the other person is not physically injured. Assault charges can be based on an allegation that the defendant placed another person in reasonable fear of imminent injury. When someone is accidentally injured, there must be proof that the injury was caused by the intentional or reckless actions of the defendant. Punishment varies in severity, depending on the classification of the assault charge.
The possible punishments for misdemeanor assault charges include:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor: Conviction may result in a jail term of up to 6 months, up to a $2,500 fine, and 3 years of probation
- Class 2 Misdemeanor: This charge is punishable by up to 4 months in jail, a fine of $750, and 2 years of probation
- Class 3 Misdemeanor: Possible penalties in include up to 30 days in jail a fine of up to $500, and 1 year of probation
Any misdemeanor assault conviction carries a maximum incarceration of 6 months and a fine of no more than $2,000, plus surcharges. Depending on the specific circumstances, the court may impose another form of punishment, such as probation, mandatory anger management, or another form of counseling.
Elevated Assault Charges
Assault charges may be elevated in a few circumstances. For example, if the defendant is charged with resisting arrest, charges can be elevated to a class 1 misdemeanor for passive resistance and to a class 6 felony when force or threat is used. In addition, assault charges can be “aggravated” in situations that cause serious physical injury, involve the use of a deadly weapon, restraining the victim, or entering a private residence. When the victim is a police, firefighter, or 15 years old or younger, the assault offense may be aggravated. Our Chandler assault attorney is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to guide you through this crisis.
Please call for a free consultation with our Chandler assault lawyer.